CACTUS “Restrictions/’Ot ‘N’ Sweaty” (2CD)

Cat No: HNECD020D
Release date: 24th JUNE 2013

Disc 1: Restrictions (1971)

  1. Restrictions
  2. Token Chokin’
  3. Guiltless Glider
  4. Evil
  5. Alaska
  6. Sweet Sixteen
  7. Bag Drag
  8. Mean Night In Cleveland

Disc 2: ’Ot ‘N’ Sweaty (1972)

  1. Swim
  2. Bad Mother Boogie
  3. Our Lil Rock-n-Roll Thing
  4. Bad Stuff
  5. Bringing Me Down
  6. Bedroom Mazurka
  7. Telling You
  8. Underneath The Arches

Cactus were formed in 1969 by members of Vanilla Fudge; Tim Bogert on bass and Carmine Appice on drums. Although originally planned to feature Rod Stewart and Jeff Beck, Cactus’s line-up was eventually completed by Jim McCarty (Mitch Ryder’s Detroit Wheels & The Buddy Miles Express) on guitar and Rusty Day (The Amboy Dukes) on vocals and harmonica.

Their bluesy, gritty rock became an influence on future generations of rock and heavy metal bands, including Montrose, AC/DC, Van Halen and Monster Magnet.

Following “Restrictions”, the third and last LP to feature McCarty and Day, they were joined for “’Ot ‘N’ Sweaty” by Leaf Hound and Atomic Rooster vocalist Pete French, Werner Fritzschings (guitar) and Duane Hitchings (keyboards). The first side of the original LP was recorded live in Puerto Rico at the Mar y Sol pop festival, and the second featuring studio recordings - the album ends with a somewhat incongruous cover of ‘Underneath The Arches’, inspired by touring with Rod Stewart & The Faces.

With remastered audio and one bonus track, this set features liner notes from Classic Rock’s Malcolm Dome based on recent interviews with Carmine Appice. Cactus are currently touring with a line-up featuring McCarty and Appice.